Day 14 Round 2 – Chicken Wing Soup

Chicken Wing Soup

I needed a kick. A kick in the taste buds that is. Plus with football on and trying to keep my meals fresh and clean to coincide with the 21 Day Fix I figured I could combine my two favorite things. Hot Sauce and Soup. I have found similar recipes on good Old Pinterest but they all added lots of cheese, or cream of whatever, or cream cheese, sour cream, etc. That doesn’t really work well with my plan of fresh and clean and not processed. So I revamped it and here I am to share it with you.

Hot Wing Soup

Ingredients:

  • 2 Cups Chicken Breasts – Cooked & Diced
  • 6 Celery Stalks – Diced
  • 2 Carrots – Diced
  • 1 Small Onion – Diced
  • 32oz Reduced Sodium Chicken Broth
  • 1/2 cup Hot Sauce – I prefer Franks Hot Sauce cause it just tastes like home – You can variate and use whatever you prefer but I highly suggest not going over 1/2 cup
  • 1/4 Sharp Cheddar Cheese – Shredded
  • Cilantro – Diced (To taste)
  • Pepper – To taste

Directions:

Add the diced celery, carrots & onion to pan and cook up until the onion becomes translucent.

Veggies

Veggies cooking away!

 

Then throw in your chicken, broth & hot sauce. Low and slow it for 20 minutes. Dish up and add a pinch of cheddar cheese & quite a bit of cilantro. That’s its. Pretty basic and a whole lot of flavor. You could always throw this into the slow cooker to make a weeknight meal easy. Say for Monday Night Football?

I measured a bowl out to be 1 Red/.5 Green/.5 Blue. if you wanted to add Greek Yogurt you could to thicken it up and count it towards your Red container that would work. I just didn’t have any on hand 😉

Follow me on FB, Twitter @modernwifetale and Pinterest to see more recipes and other folks I follow to keep my inspiration up.

One thought on “Day 14 Round 2 – Chicken Wing Soup

Leave a comment